WhatsApp had begun testing the “View Once” feature on its platform for quite a long time. In a recent report, the Facebook-owned company clarified that the feature has started rolling out on iOS devices.
Now everyone using WhatsApp can share media files like photos or videos in “View Once” mode which will immediately disappear after the receiver takes a peek. Only single viewing will be allowed and the message will be shown as opened after the viewing. The company claims that it will allow many users to send sensitive information on their apps but the receiver can take a screenshot and the sender will not be notified.
The media shared through this feature will not appear in the chatbox or the gallery of the receiver. The feature has only started its rollout and it may take some time to reach every device. Once the feature is enabled in the user’s version of WhatsApp, they can use this feature by tapping the “1” icon which will appear near the caption bar.
Similar feature is available in the Facebook-owned Instagram too. WhatsApp has also added some new in-app message notification styles that help in decluttering and bringing focus to the contents of the message received.