Ever written a text message, clicked “send” and then wished you hadn’t? Anyone who’s ever sent an ill advised message in anger or drunkenness is likely to see the appeal of a new app, Privates, which lets users recall a text or picture message before it’s been opened by the recipient.
Users of the app simply have to tap the “Recall” and the message will be deleted from Privates server. However, that’ll only work up until the message has been opened so if you’re going to change your mind it’s best to do so promptly.
Privates, currently only available on iOS but with Android and Windows versions coming soon, also includes technology to prevent the recipient of a message from taking a screenshot of it, and from sending or leaking unauthorized copies of messages.
It has three levels of security setting presets, “Mild”, “Wild” and “Insane” which will delete unread messages after either 24, 12 or three hours and an optional “reactions” feature will shows the facial expression of the recipient when they view the message.